My adventure to medical school

Introduction…

A medical student is not always born into a family of doctors, although it would be advantageous having a greater exposure to the profession and a lot of help to secure clinical work experience (providing a basic inspiration and an easier decision about whether medicine is the right career). For me and a lot of students out there (with no doctors in the family) it wasn’t the case, so the path ahead was not so clear.

Ok now here’s what’s next, there will be a number of points and stages for this adventure:

High school and College

During high school I always thought being a plane captain was for me. It was like this for years before, but I discovered I was a person who hated flights completely! And as its well known- like the thing you do to succeed in it. So I had to cross pilot off my list. Doing my GCSEs did not give me an answer for the common question ‘what do you want to be in the future?’, but it has certainly showed me what subjects I enjoyed (Science and Maths).

As time moved on and I grew older it was time to choose three A-levels for college. Chemistry and Biology were chosen as they overlap in parts which meant a better understanding. I thought Maths was an essential subject to have for everyday life. So it was Bio, Chem and Maths!

The decision making process

College life was interesting but I had to decide what I wanted to do further down the line. It is one of the most important decisions that a person can ever make. I initiated a process to help me make an informed decision starting with a careers advisor appointment and doing a massive research to what could be a possible pathway that I might be interested in. Doing all this drew a list of paths but there was no definite answer, however I felt a unique pull towards healthcare professions as I imagined how a person can use scientific knowledge to make a difference in this world which is greatly rewarding and self satisfying.

A missing ‘ingredient’    

After doing some voluntary work in a hospital and reading a lot about medicine I started to see a clear path ahead, but was still afraid and uncertain.Then the realisation came upon me that this whole time I hadn’t been involving the Almighty (Allah) in my decision. Making tawakul (total reliance on Allah) was my only way because as a Muslim I believe that Allah knows best. I prayed asking Him to choose what is best for me, and knowing that medicine is what I wanted to do.

Involving Allah in my decision process was the best solution, everything started falling into place. My confidence grew from that point onwards because remembering that the Almighty was in control had reassured me and given me the power to get my exams over and done with.

UCAS time!

I submitted my application through UCAS having applied to 4 medical schools, but had left my 5th choice blank, as I already had ‘plan B’ because I knew how extremely competitive it is to get into a medical school. So as time dragged by, I was waiting for an email regarding an interview invitation (seeing some friends starting to get interviews and even places). Anyway, February came along and brought with it the 4 rejections without a single interview, something that decreased my confidence massively. I was really disappointed and saddened which caused me to start rethinking and questioning my decision, but I didn’t forget that it might be a test and patience was the key, as I was reminded constantly by my supportive parents.

‘Plan B’

Recovering from that took a while, however it was turn for ‘plan B’. I worked extremely hard encountering tough moments and obstacles, but on the whole, I just kept doing my best in order to secure my grades without a worry to get ready for my gap year! It was August when results came out and I looked at my results with a tear near my eye, knowing that I exceeded the average medical school A-level requirement (AAA) obtaining (A*A*A).

My plan for the gap year was simple – from getting involved in a voluntary job to try looking for a paid job in a hospital, preparing for UKCAT and any possible interviews then maybe travel if there was time. Voluntary work was easy to get. However, I could not find a paid job in a hospital so I had to go for a customer service role which taught me a lesson about communication skills and was a source of income.

It’s UCAS time again!!

October was back, it was time to send my UCAS application again! I made some adjustments to my previous personal statement with things I done or will be doing during my gap year. After that it was a waiting game but I was glad I done everything I can…

Mixed news

January came along and brought with it sad news of three rejections and no interviews. Now, with honesty, I started to ask a difficult question which I have no answer to. ‘Was Allah saying that medicine wasn’t for me?’ Such an incredibly humbling experience that left me so content and submissive to His will. Nevertheless, I kept a good grip on the rope of hope that I still have one more chance and it was not over yet. February was back again, this time with better news than the previous one. I received an interview!!! I could not believe my eyes…

Interview stage

I went to the interview with a great level of confidence (I really worked my socks-off to prepare for it) knowing that it was my last chance this year 2013/2014. Unfortunately, the traditional interviews were all about knowing the buzzwords and saying what the interviewers want to hear, which I believe can be biased sometimes. Aspects such as “impression” and “people-skills” are far too subjective to be measured fairly, and so unfortunately, if you want to be in, you need to jump through the hoops that are placed in front of you – like an obstacle course.

I finished the interview satisfied that I impressed the panel, but remembering the students I met in the waiting area terrified me. It also reminded me of ‘Gladiator’ with everyone trying to survive the interview process. All these thoughts stayed in my head, which made me uncertain of my performance.

The wait

I’m not going to say that the next few weeks were easy because they weren’t in anyway. The next few weeks were difficult at times – not knowing what was going to happen and feeling like I had no control over anything – but knew deep down that what was going to happen would be what was best for me, because it wasn’t in my hands anymore, but in Allah’s.

March was beginning and after being obsessed with my email checking that reached an average of 20 times a day. After all that hard work and emotional roller coaster, there it was a letter on UCAS track saying: ‘Congratulations on receiving an offer…’.All the worries are gone now it’s time to have a break (‘have a Kit Kat’) and wait for October, but this time no more UCAS application time!!!

Thank you for spending some time to read my ‘short’ story!!!

Leave a comment